Uwe Marquardt

When Uwe’s voice becomes quieter and his southern German accent more pronounced, we all know what that means: He’s unsatisfied. And we all rack our brains to find a way to solve our tasks even better. However, the ultra-loyal creative director is just as good with praise.

In his 30-plus years of experience, Uwe has seen many world-renowned advertising agencies from the inside – from Saatchi & Saatchi and Ogilvy & Mather to Lowe, Leo Burnett and Young & Rubicam. Together with his teams, he has won over 250 creative awards such as Cannes, ADC, D&AD, LIAA, Cresta, Clio, COMPRIX and Effie. He is a member of the Art Directors Club Germany (ADC) and Europe (ADCE) and gives guest lectures and presentations.

“There are two things I absolutely love about working at VMLY&Rx: Its international character. And the teamwork. I find it personally highly enriching to work with so many different people and nationalities every single day.” In his free time, he looks for an opportunity to wind down – and finds it high in the skies – by paragliding.

How is he working from home in the COVID-19 era? Very flexibly. “I prefer to wander around the house with my laptop. I rotate between the office, kitchen table, backyard, sofa and, sometimes, my bed. Always in a different order.” 

  • Image Uwe Marquardt
Managing Director Creation

Uwe Marquardt

Wenn bei Uwe die Worte leiser werden und der süddeutsche Tonfall die Oberhand gewinnt, wissen wir alle: Jetzt ist er unzufrieden. Und denken nochmal scharf nach, ob sich die Aufgabe nicht noch etwas besser lösen ließe. Lob beherrscht der sehr loyale Chef der Kreation allerdings genauso.

In über 30 Jahren Berufserfahrung hat Uwe zahlreiche renommierte Werbeagenturen von innen gesehen – angefangen bei Saatchi & Saatchi über Ogilvy & Mather, Lowe, Leo Burnett und Young & Rubicam. Gemeinsam mit seinen Teams hat er über 250 Kreativauszeichnungen wie Cannes, ADC, D&AD, LIAA, Cresta, Clio, COMPRIX und Effie gewonnen. Er ist Mitglied im Art Directors Club Deutschland (ADC) und Europe (ADCE) und hält Gastvorträge und -vorlesungen.

„An meiner Arbeit bei VMLY&Rx schätze ich zwei Dinge im Besonderen: Die Internationalität. Und das Teamwork. Ich finde es für mich sehr bereichernd, tagtäglich mit so vielen unterschiedlichen Menschen und Nationalitäten zusammenzuarbeiten.“ In seiner Freizeit sucht er Entschleunigung – und findet sie ganz weit oben – beim Paragliding.

Wie arbeitet er zu Corona-Zeiten im Homeoffice? Ganz flexibel. „Am liebsten wandere ich mit meinem Laptop im Haus umher. Die Stationen sind dann Arbeitszimmer, Küchentisch, Garten, Sofa und manchmal Bett. Und dies immer in unterschiedlicher Reihenfolge.“ 

  • Image Uwe Marquardt
Managing Director Kreation